

ICC AWARDS 2022 BACKGROUND INFORMATION

The ICC Awards 2022 aims to celebrate the stand-out performers and moments from the past year of international cricket.

The ICC Awards 2022 categories recognise:

- 1. Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men's Cricketer of the Year The best overall performer in men's international cricket (Tests, ODIs and T20Is) during the Performance Period.
- Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year The best overall performer in women's international cricket (Tests, ODIs and T20Is) during the Performance Period.
- 3. ICC Men's Test Cricketer of the Year The best overall performer in men's Test cricket during the Performance Period.
- 4. ICC Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year The best overall performer in men's ODI cricket during the Performance Period
- ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year The best overall performer in women's ODI cricket during the Performance Period
- ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year The best overall performer in men's T20I cricket during the Performance Period
- ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year The best overall performer in women's T20I cricket during the Performance Period
- ICC Emerging Men's Cricketer of the Year The best overall performer in men's international cricket who meets the following criteria; under the age of 26 and has played a maximum of 5 Tests, 10 ODIs and 10 T20Is prior to the Performance Period
- ICC Emerging Women's Cricketer of the Year The best overall performer in women's international cricket who meets the following criteria; under the age of 26 and has played a maximum of 6 ODIs and 10 T20Is prior to the Performance Period
- 10. ICC Men's Associate Cricketer of the Year The best overall performer in men's Associate cricket during the Performance Period
- 11. ICC Women's Associate Cricketer of the Year The best overall performer in women's Associate cricket during the Performance Period
- 12. ICC Spirit of Cricket Award An action, moment, gesture or decision on the field of play in international cricket during the Performance Period which best reflects the Spirit of Cricket.
- 13. **ICC Umpire of the Year –** The best overall umpire in international cricket (Tests, ODIs and T20Is) during the Performance Period.

Furthermore, Teams of the Year (TOTY) will be compiled for the following five formats:

- 14. ICC Men's Test TOTY
- 15. ICC Men's ODI TOTY
- 16. ICC Women's ODI TOTY
- 17. ICC Men's T20I TOTY
- 18. ICC Women's T20I TOTY

The Performance Period for the awards will be 1 January – 31 December 2022.



VOTING PROCESS

The voting mechanism for the ICC Awards 2022 is as follows:

Awards 1-9 as listed above:

An Awards Panel comprising prominent cricket journalists and broadcasters from across the globe and the ICC General Manager – Cricket will determine a shortlist of nominees for each category:

- Wasim Khan, ICC General Manager Cricket
- Ian Bishop, Broadcaster (West Indies)
- Simon Wilde, Journalist (England)
- Anand Vasu, Broadcaster (India)
- Natalie Germanos, Broadcaster (South Africa)
- Shahid Hashmi, Journalist (Pakistan)
- Lisa Sthalekar, Broadcaster (Australia)

The nominees for each of the categories will be determined according to on-field performances and overall achievements during the Performance Period.

The shortlists will then be voted on by a Voting Academy comprising a wider selection of global cricket journalists and broadcasters, with cricket fans also contributing to the vote via the ICC's digital channels.

Comprehensive statistics relevant to all the above categories will be distributed among the Voting Academy along with accompanying narratives, and they will cast their votes online, outlining their first, second and third choices for each category. Scoring for votes submitted by the Voting Academy will be as follows:

- 1st choice 3 points
- 2nd choice 2 points
- 3rd choice 1 point

The result of the Voting Academy selections and the fans' vote will be combined to determine the winner in each of these categories.

In the event of a tie, the player with the most first choice votes from the Voting Academy will be declared the winner. If a tie still exists, then the player with the most second choice votes from the Voting Academy will be declared the winner. If a tie still exists, then the player with the most third choice votes from the Voting Academy will be declared the winner. If a tie still exists, then the player with the Awards Panel will be approached to make a final selection from the tied nominations.

Awards 10 and 11 as listed above:

No shortlists for these categories will be produced. Stats and accompanying narratives for the Performance Period will be presented to the Voting Academy who will use the online voting form to vote for their chosen player in each category.

The winners in these categories will be determined solely by the Voting Academy.

In the event of a tie, the Awards Panel will be approached to make a final selection from the tied nominations.



Award 12 – ICC Spirit of Cricket Award

Nominations for this category will be submitted by the ICC's Elite Panel of Umpires and Match Referees, with the winner selected by ICC Management.

Award 13 - ICC Umpire of the Year Award

Elite Panel Match Referees and captains of ICC Full Member men's teams will vote to determine the ICC Umpire of the Year from the ICC's Elite Panel.

ICC Teams of the Year

The Voting Academy will determine the selections in the TOTY categories using the online survey, identifying their teams in batting order, selecting a balanced team of batters, bowlers and one wicketkeeper, while also nominating a captain from their selections for each format.

Where further clarifications are necessary (i.e. unbalanced team, unclear batting order, or a tie in captain selections), more feedback will be sought from the Awards Panel.

VOTE WEIGHTING

For Awards 1 to 9 as listed above, the results of the Voting Academy's selections will amount to a 90% share of the vote, with the fans' vote counting for 10%.

The other award winners will be determined as specified above.

The ICC Teams of the Year will be determined from selections submitted by the Voting Academy.